Who are we

Komali Yenneti, Chair, Faculty of Built Environment, University of New South Wales, Sydney

dsc05451Dr. Komali Yenneti (PhD, M.Plan, B.Arch), is a human geographer with expertise and interests in socio-politics and policy governance of energy, sustainability and urban development in the global south (specifically India and China).  She has published in internationally reputed journals, such as Energy Policy, Journal of Rural Studies, Geoforum, Geographical Review, Habitat International, Energy Strategy Reviews, Renewable and Sustainable Energy Review and more. Her research experience include working with various international organizations, including The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI), India; German Development Institute (DIE), Bonn; Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (IGES),  Japan; Energy Geographies Working Group (EGWG) of the Royal Geographical Society (RGS), London, and more. She has  received  research grants from the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC), the  Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Midlands Energy Graduate School (MEGS), and many more. Komali has several awards to her account, including Hyderabad Industries Gold Medal, Vastushilpa Foundation Gold Medal, Young Environmentalist Award by JERAD, and one of the 25 outstanding young scientists  by the Federal Ministry of Education and research (BMBF), Germany. She is at the forefront of policy and advocacy, having being associated with the Commonwealth Youth Climate Netowrk (CYCN) and Indian Youth Climate Network (IYCN) in the past. More information about Komali at http://komali.krish-in.org/

Martina Angela Caretta, Vice-chair, Department Geology and Geography, West Virginia University

foto-mia-profilo-ravvicinatoDr. Martina Angela Caretta is a Feminist Geographer interested in the Human Dimensions of Water. She conducted her dissertation work in the drylands of East Africa on smallholder irrigation systems from  gender, institutional and landscape perspectives. She is interested in waterscapes and how they are modified, reified and used by people and in turn, how people, their norms and customs are constituted by and through waterscapes. All the scientific work she has done has been guided by participatory feminist methodologies. She is now turning my attention to Appalachia and gearing up to conduct studies locally.  She published in Gender, Place & Culture; Qualitative Methodologies; Geographical Journal; The Professional Geographer and more. To contact her and see more of her work 

Gaurav Sikka, Secretary and Treasurer , Department of Geography, University of Delhi

Steering Committee Members

  • Andre Carmo, Institute of Geography and Spatial Planning, University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Alexander Sebentsov, Institute of Geography, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
  • Eleanor Darlington, Department of Geography, Loughborough University, United Kingdom
  • Jackeline Romio, Department of Demography, State University of Campinas, Brazil
  • Kamalini Ramdas, Department of Geography, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Ravi Baghel, Department of Geography, University of Heidelberg, Germany
  • Milton Milaras, Department of Environmental Sciences, University of South Africa, South Africa